F1 2016 The Race in Numbers

The article covers the 2016 Formula 1 season, which was won by Nico Rosberg.

The blog is written by a fan, who loves statistics and numbers.

The blog is not written from a professional point of view.

In the article, you can find different kind of data visualisations, such as bar charts, pie charts and tables.

The article has some paragraphs of text for explanation and context.

The style of writing is very clear.

The 2016 Formula One season is over, with Nico Rosberg finally clinching his first world championship title.

Here’s a look at the season in numbers:


3,247 – Laps completed in the season

2,320 – Kilometres travelled (1,442 miles)

21 – Number of races in 21 different countries on five continents.

19 – Different winners over the past four seasons.

18 – Drivers who scored a point this season.

13 – Previous World Champions on the grid.

10 – Different teams on the podium this season.

7 – Different winners from the first seven races of 2016.

5 – Drivers who have won two or more races this year. Four of them are still in contention for the title heading into Abu Dhabi. The fifth won it last year!

2 – Races remaining out of 20 in the most wide-open title race since 2008.


Bahrain was an eventful race this year. The tension between Ferrari and Red Bull meant that Kvyat and Raikkonen were sent to the stewards to discuss their incident, where they both received 10 second time penalties. Kvyat also had a drive through penalty for causing a collision with Vettel at turn 1, who then went on to receive a 10 second stop & go penalty for deliberately driving into Kvyat’s car. Despite the drama, it was the Mercedes duo of Hamilton and Rosberg who took the top two positions, while Vettel recovered from his penalties to finish third.

On the subject of penalties, there were a total of four during the race in Bahrain – two time penalties, one drive through penalty and one stop & go penalty. This is more than any other race weekend so far this season.

I also covered penalties in my previous blog post about pit stops: in Bahrain there were four successful overtakes into the lead of the race after a pit stop due to another driver receiving a penalty. This is more than any other track so far in 2016.

2016 F1 Standings

2016 F1 Drivers Championship Standings

2016 F1 Constructors Championship Standings

Mercedes have already won the 2016 Formula 1 Constructors’ Championship and Lewis Hamilton is on the brink of winning his fourth Drivers’ Championship.

But there’s still plenty to play for as the drivers head for Mexico City for the 18th race of the season.

Here are a few facts, figures and trivia about the Mexican Grand Prix and what has happened in previous years.

The first of the two Grand Prixs to mark the start of the season were in Australia and Bahrain. Last year, the first race was held in Melbourne and it was won by Nico Rosberg, who also took pole position. The Australian Grand Prix is always the first race in a season and has been present on the calendar since 1985. However, it wasn’t until 1996 that it became a permanent fixture.

The 2014 Australian Grand Prix saw Lewis Hamilton starting second on the grid but finishing fifth, while teammate Nico Rosberg took victory after starting from pole position. Rosberg also took fastest lap, with his teammate Hamilton again behind him. The 2015 Australian Grand Prix saw Nico Rosberg extend his dominance over Lewis Hamilton after winning his fourth consecutive race dating back to 2014.

Just like Australia, Bahrain has been on the calendar since 2004 and has had 14 races at the Sakhir International Circuit since then. The 2014 Bahrain Grand Prix was won by Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton, who started from pole position but had to fight off teammate Nico Rosberg for most of the race as he finished second.

In 2015, Nico Rosberg beat Sebastian Vettel to take victory in Bahrain; however he didn’t lead every lap of the race unlike he did when winning in Melbourne two weeks prior

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.